Self Same Photon

I'm a beginner. One of the reasons I bought a telescope was because I wanted to see galaxies with my own actual eyes. I won't explain why but one thing that occurred to me was this. Suppose I'm looking at the M33 galaxy through my telescope. Photons are landing on my retina and forming an image. Now M33 is about 3 million light years away so lets take one of those photons. Is it a sensible question to ask if that photon is the actual self same photon which left M33 galaxy 3 million years ago, travelled across billions of miles of empty space, through our atmosphere, reflecting off the mirror in my telescope, through the glass in the eyepiece and through my eyeball before reaching my retina? That would be cool if it were true. 

I've asked this question elsewhere and got different answers.

Cheers

Steve

1 hour ago, woodblock said:

I'm a beginner. One of the reasons I bought a telescope was because I wanted to see galaxies with my own actual eyes. I won't explain why but one thing that occurred to me was this. Suppose I'm looking at the M33 galaxy through my telescope. Photons are landing on my retina and forming an image. Now M33 is about 3 million light years away so lets take one of those photons. Is it a sensible question to ask if that photon is the actual self same photon which left M33 galaxy 3 million years ago, travelled across billions of miles of empty space, through our atmosphere, reflecting off the mirror in my telescope, through the glass in the eyepiece and through my eyeball before reaching my retina? That would be cool if it were true. 

I've asked this question elsewhere and got different answers.

Cheers

Steve

I think the general consensus is no, the mirror in your reflector absorbs the photon and re-emits a new one. Sorry! But you are still observing M33 as it was 3 million years ago, who cares if it's exaclly the same photon?

42 minutes ago, johnrt said: