Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello, help needed newbie

Hi, I am very new to Astronomy. Recently purchased a Celestron Nester 102 SLT and am amazed at what I am seeing!

I need help if somebody has knowledge of my problem. I have a Samsung NX1000 camera and would like to capture some images.

I have a mounting bracket to just align the camera to the eye-piece. I have now purchased the correct T2 adaptor and T ring to mount the camera to the scope.

A couple of questions here: the refractor scope has the star diagonal fitted. my camera adaptors will allow fitting directly to the scope thread or mount into the star diagonal.

I cannot determine which is the correct way, I also have a Celestron x2 Barlow. whichever combination of mounting or lenses I try the camera picks up zero image.

Should I use a particular mode and settings on the camera? any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated thanks.

Hello and welcome to SGL . Ideally the light path to the camera should as straight as possible to avoid degradation. To do this you might find that you need an extension tube to get the camera into the correct position to achieve focus, a 2" tube is sometimes quoted for this (try this out in daylight first). The camera should be set to manual mode and shutter speed /iso rating adjusted to give the correct exposure. 

You could take images of the Moon/Planets with the 102. The camera needs to be mounted onto the telescope directly - not the diagonal. Once mounted you will need to focus the camera - I am not familiar with the NX1000 so I can't help with that.

Peter

Hi Spikkyboy,

First post I see, so welcome to the forum. You will find a wealth of information here of all aspects of astronomy.
Just ask and a lot of good people here are totally willing to answer your questions. Have fun! that is the most important thing.

As far as your question goes: