Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DSLR that is also good for AP?

CountBorgula

My wife and I are off to Sri-Lanka for a few weeks in February.  She is a keen amateur photographer, and wants to get an entry-level DSLR to take with us.  I was hoping to get something that I could also use for some AP, I am total beginner at that.  I am planning to sell my "light-bucket" dobsonian to get a scope more suited to AP.  This question is about the camera though.  We are currently considering the Canon 1200D, does anyone have any thoughts or opinions on how this performs a beginners AP camera?

The filter curve for a Canon implies that it will pass about 20% of the Ha wavelength.

The filter curve for a Nikon implies that it will pass about 10% of the Ha wavelength.

So in those terms the Canon is "better".

I would assume that there is some sort of software applied, but no direct knowledge.

The other camera (general) is the Sony and although I have a Sony I cannot locate the filter characteristics for their item. This includes asking Sony UK direct and after 6 weeks getting a reply that they had asked back at Sony Japan and apparently no-one knew the detail of the filter incorporated. Which seems more then a little strange since the software in the camera has to operate with the filter throughput.

If you remove the filter from the Canon's or the Nikon's you will change the colour balance and normal photography will therefore have the colour balance altered. It is very much a case of one or the other but not both.

Canon do or did produce a DSLR for AP, designation was nnnDA, not sure how good they were at standard photography. CAtch was they are/were so costly you may as well buy 2 normal Canon's and modify one.

I assume that it is possible to remove the Canon IR cut filter for astronomy then use a clip filter of the same characteristics for normal use.