NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Safely viewing the Sun

I am interested in observing the sun, before I do so I want to make sure I've got the correct equipment.

I have ordered this solar safety film.. http://www.firstlightoptics.com/solar-filters/baader-astrosolar-safety-film-nd-50.html  to cover the end of the smaller cap on my 200p, 

I am also going to construct a cap for the end of my finderscope with the safety film.

What else should I be using? Also any tips, I'm pretty new to all this :)

Thanks

Oliie

Hello Ollie, welcome to SGL.

You are on the right track and what you propose, if done correctly, will be safe. My only extra comment is that the aperture at the end cap is going to be around 2", if you make an off axis version without the end cap then you could achieve at least 3" clear aperture offering better resolution.  :smiley:

Personally I'd forget the finder completely, leave the dust caps on. You can get a good alignment from the scope's shadow on the ground. I did make quite a nice solar finder for one of my scopes from an old finder scope. I took out all the glass, removed the rear section (so I'm left with a single cylinder) and replaced the front element with a suitably cut up old credit card (which I covered with silver foil but that was just for looks) and pierced a pinhole in the centre. At the rear I cut up an old translucent yogurt pot and marked an X in the centre. The pinhole transmits a nice dot onto the rear "element" which, once the finder is aligned (sits in the normal finder mount) makes alignment beautifully straightforward without casting your eyes anywhere near the direction of the sun.