Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Looking for East London astronomy club

Hi All, first of all apologies if I'm posting it to the wrong section (by all means move it to the correct section).

I am pretty new to this hobby and am already looking to make a purchase on my first equipment and was looking for some East London based astronomy club. I haven't been able to find any apart from the one in Upminister which to be honest is a bit too far off for me to travel with the tube and the mount (Do not own a car yet unfortunately). I've been to the flamsteed and baker street irregular ones which are close by clubs to my work but I might not be able to travel that much in the tube with my to-be-dear equipment.

So does anyone know any astro society around Ilford, Barking, Dagenham, Becontree, Gants Hill, Wanstead, Stratford, area?

Many thanks.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Cheers guys. Funny enough the Loughton one is run by my ex-work colleague but I have to travel for it all the way from East to west which again is not feasible with all that equipment.

I guess I'll have to stick to Flamsteed guys.

Would be nice to find someone who lives in East London so that we can organise something ourselves

Gutted if you ask me :(

Cheers triton, will try to get hold of him/her and find out :) This thread is already started become useful for me... Wohoo! :) Would be super awesome if more can come forward.

Also is there any section of the forum I need to be looking at to find these little astronomy clubs? Those that are not mentioned in knobby and mcolbert links?

You're going to struggle taking that anywhere on the tube, I have the same combo and really can't imagine carrying it very far ... Maybe some kind of trolley like anglers use would help but it would still be a struggle .

Why not pop along to the Upminster club and have a chat .

Are you looking to find a club or a darker observing site ?

Sorry so many questions :-)