Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Vixen refractors

Sound like different beasts to me WH but then I've no real experience with either.

Interesting read about aperture related resolution here - http://www.cloudynights.com/item.php?item_id=1354

And another one on how critical exact collimation is for an SCT to perform here - http://perso.club-internet.fr/legault/collim.html

Conflicting conclusions on comparisons between 4" apos and 8" SCTs (the apos are a lot more expensive however) http://www.cloudynights.com/item.php?item_id=939

and http://www.cloudynights.com/item.php?item_id=940.

Martin

PS think both would be nice :lol:

Sorry, I meant a 4" Vixen achro compared to a 4" Celestron Achro. Or a 4" Orion. I am out looking for good deals, that I can talk Mrs. W into letting me have. I explained the reason I want a large Dob as well as a medium frac the other day. She seemed to think that was OK. She doesn't much want to look through my scope, though...

There's a Vixen Achro for $350. It'll have to stay unsold for a little while, to make it possible, though.

I used to own a scope called a Bresser Uranus 102mm F9.8 refractor which turned out to be a Vixen SP102M, re-branded. The same scope was also sold by Celestron in the 1980's and early 1990's. These were all made by the Vixen factory in Japan and I found mine an excellent scope - I reckon it was just about as good as an 4inch f10 achromat could get.

The latest incarnations of these scopes are made in China. I have not owned one but they seem to get decent reviews. The big thing that has changed is the price - I paid around £600 (nearly $1000) for mine (pre-owned) in 1990 (that included the super polaris mount, driven on both axis and with the Skysensor - an early GOTO device). The modern versions can be picked up for between one third and half that amount.