NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Do I really need a guidescope? Would a CG3 suffice for some astrophotography?

Hello

I am pretty new to astronomy, I have been doing visual observations for a while now, but I have been really becoming interested in shooting some long exposures of nebulae and galaxies, and some imagery of Earth orbiting satellites. I really don't want to spend that much at this point in my life, I am only 14 so going $1500 for Advanced VX with an auto guider unfortunately won't work out lol. I do have a DSLR and I do have a lot of experience with launch photography and DIY rigs, so I was wondering if I really needed an autoguider for maybe about 30 seconds or so on an exposure if I bump up the ISO to maybe 1600. And I know the CG3 is a really cheap mount, but if I was to buy one of the Astromaster telescopes and put a decent OTA on it, and I get the polar alignment perfect, is it doable? If I could modify the mount or motor drive itself that could also work, I have experience with Arduino systems. I really want to try to get a telescope soon because my family is going on a vacation to the Big Island of Hawaii for a week or so and the skies will be amazing, maybe even a few nights on Mauna Kea with no atmospheric distortion :smiley: . I just really would appreciate any input on using the CG3 mount with maybe slight modifications and a new OTA, and maybe how long I can expose the images without the stars trailing off. I do know that a DSLR's sensor is too large for Earth orbiting satellites, so I was thinking maybe completely tearing apart a USB webcam and modifying it to work with the OTA as well.

Thank you!

Alex Polimeni

www.alexpolimeniphotography.weebly.com