Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Truss Dob Collimation Shift

Hi - Weather has been terrible so... I'm looking at collimation shift vs altitude in my recently acquired 15". I'm using a barlowed laser, and looking at the shifting of the shadow of the centre mark donut over say ~10° to 90° (zenith). I see a shift of ~2mm - I will check the tightness of everything. The absolute distance shift is somewhat ambiguous for comparison I guess - it is divergence angled that counts...?

It's not too big a deal to tweak if viewing low to horizon, but just wondering do others see such non-zero shift - is it just par-for-the-course?

Would certainly be grateful of any comments/suggestions from others - I'm new to truss dobs + using a laser to aid collimation :)

Thanks,

-Niall

Thanks yes the vanes seem pretty taut, but will check over whole scope including mirror cell with tools.

I also expect that I might need to adjust the sling a little bit possibly.

I guess what I'm wondering is if after fiddling and checking things, does a mm or two sound reasonable as residual shift? Seems plausible from Lurehurst link (+thanks).

Or do people typically find their systems approach zero shift...?

Before collimating, I push the scope horizontal, give a gentle push on the back of the mirror, swing gently up to zenith and back down a couple of times, then start collimating at say 45° or so.

Before collimating, I push the scope horizontal, give a gentle push on the back of the mirror, swing gently up to zenith and back down a couple of times, then start collimating at say 45° or so.

That's what I do, it seems to speed up the collimation process a bit. Get fed up with 'chasing the polo' around...need to save the body warmth for actual observing  :D

Why would you view at 10deg above the horizon? Stop it!  :grin: