Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice on viewing with Lunt Herschel Wedge

RobertI

I have a Lunt Herschel Wedge arriving in the next couple of weeks and I am planning to use this with my WO 66mm refractor and my highest mag 5mm eyepiece. I believe the FOV will be roughly as shown below, ie: full solar disc. I am completely new to solar observing but the plan is for visual initially and then some imaging with my Canon EOS.

I realise my question may be a bit premature given that I haven’t got the Wedge yet, but should I plan for some higher power viewing too, or will full disc viewing keep me busy for a few months? If higher power, what would be the best way to go; a barlow,  a shorter FL eyepiece or a cheapish long FL achro refractor??

Any thoughts appreciated.

Rob

post-17401-0-27083400-1424959871.png

Solar's a different kettle of fish when it comes to magnification. I can rarely use magnification over about 60x because the seeing's so affected by the sun's warming effect and I don't think that's uncommon.

See how you get on with your existing eyepieces, figure out what your optimal magnification is and if you do feel the need to change try a simple eyepiece like a plossl or an orthoscopic - fewer glass elements is usually better, in my experience.

I agree with above. I'm not a big fan of magnification on the sun and prefer to stick to around x33. I know many others push the mag up to x60 and beyond but I have never found this much fun and soon gives me a headache. There was the one time when I managed x96 and the views were mind blowing but that was in a 5" refractor and the seeing was perfect.

Thanks for the responses, I'm glad I asked, the heating effect of the sun on the image quality is not something I had considered, seems obvious now! Sounds like the 10mm e/p giving 40x will probably give the best results but I shall experiment with what I have.

Rob

My preference differs from the above when using a Hershel wedge :laugh: