Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Collimation guide

Hmm.. I am not an expert, but there is something wrong with this guide... It is not possible to perform correct collimation, especially for imaging, without correct eyepiece holder position and centering secondary mirror holder(spider) - and that was not mentioned in this guide at all.

Hmm.. I am not an expert, but there is something wrong with this guide... It is not possible to perform correct collimation, especially for imaging, without correct eyepiece holder position and centering secondary mirror holder(spider) - and that was not mentioned in this guide at all.

Hope you don't mind me saying, but are you reading the same link ? http://www.garyseronik.com/?q=node/169

Step # 2, about 2/3 of the way down the link, says how to align the secondary. Easy to miss with a quick read.

Regards, Ed.

I highly recommend this guide to collimation, it takes away a lot of the mystery about aligning your scope, and just works. I collimated my Revelation 8" dob in about 15 minutes following this guide, and that was the first time I'd ever done it.

http://www.garyseronik.com/?q=node/169

Hope it helps!

Baz

This is a very good and simple tutorial for collimating a newtonian for observing or basic imaging for most beginners. I am afraid that if you are an owner of a fast scope with imaging in mind this level of collimation will not do. IMHO the makers of the telescopes could help quite a bit by providing reference points for the center of the focuser ( to aid orthogonality ) and even the secondary to aid collimaton the same way that nowadays the center of most primaries are marked to aid collimation. I have seen experinced users reorting to use of expensive tools and software to get the light distribution right, these could easily be avoided by just having 3 reference points.

Regards,

A.G