NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First Night Out In Months Cut Short By Cloud

russellhq

Well, the forecast was for a clear night, but the weather had different ideas.

Anyway, at least I managed to test my new narrowband filters. Here's 2 off 20min subs, calibrated with flats and bias of the Elephant's Trunk nebula. This is my first time capturing and processing narrowband data (complicated by the fact I have a OSC camera), bit it looks OK so far. Just need clear skies so I can capture more data and try another filter as well.

post-6495-0-84571500-1408844201_thumb.pn

Yeah, I was a bit rusty getting things set up so made a good trial run at least. 

As I don't have a filter wheel, I tried out my plan for changing filters. I've got the Baader click lock, and the FLO adapter on the reducer. So the filter sits at the end. What I did was slacken the click lock, slide out the camera and reducer assembly and screw off the filter. It turned out to be a lot more precarious than I would have liked. So I think I'll give that a miss a stick to 1 filter a night (or buy a new toy). 

What happened to the promised clear skies all night.

Done pretty much the same as yourself Russell.  Skies went milky around midnight before I got a chance to do an imaging run, wanted to test software, filters and have a play with my

mount that Ive have had a chance to use twice since last December.  Im way out of practice ...

Mark

Thanks folks. I am quite chuffed with this image as it's the faintest detail I've been able to pick up. I'd almost written off my observing site (garden) to light pollution here in the middle of Glasgow, but the NB filters seem to be doing a top job! Now I just need to figure out how to process them properly!