NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What Telescope?

Hi all,

Im new here, i was recommended to use this forum for advice on a telescope.

I have basic knowledge of the night sky and have started off with Celestron binoculars.

As this is my first telescope i am looking for something not too expensive that i can use to view the planets and as i gain experience galaxies etc. 

I would like it to be GoTo that i could also use for astrophotography (again when i am more experienced)

Also please let me no any extra equipment i may need.

Thanks in advance,

Adam

Hi Adam and welcome to the forum  :smiley:

It would be useful to have some idea of your budget for the scope and essential accessories as there is such a large range of options available these days and a huge range of prices to match.

forget goto and astrophotography. buy an (used ) 8" dobson. use it for 2-3 years, then upgrade. Astrophoto gear costs tons and goto is not as accurate as you think. 

An 8" dob would be nice,I started off with a half decent 90mm,hind site being 20/20 I would have been better off with the 8"-and joining SGL sooner.Lots of good choices,John is right,need to know the budget.

I would personally forgo imaging for a while,and buy Mod Steppenwolfs book,Making Every Photon Count,I'm glad I did.Reading the imaging section will give an idea of whats needed to get and process great images.

Hi, really do need an idea of budget, this kit can go from inexpensive to plain extreme.

Imaging itself can fall into 2 regions - DSO and planetary.

For planetary you can use a simple Alz/Az goto Mak or SCT (with webcam). However be aware that Jupiter has gone and will return next year. Mars is going and will return in 2 years and Saturn is disappearing (and is low) and will return middle next year. Simply there is not going to be planets around to image.