Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Celestron Astromaster 130EQ mods

alan687

Firstly im new to the fourms so hi everyone

ive been using the 130EQ for about a month now and it is just a cracker telescope for the money but i desided it was time for a few upgrades.

i have ordered Barlow Lens 3 Element 3x and Meade Series 4000 6.4mm eyepiece

The eyepiece has 13mm of eye relief so it should be a nice improvement that means that i now have a 20mm 10mm and a 6.4mm giving me 32.5x,65x,100x and with the barlow 97.5x, 195x, 300x.

Some might say that overpowered but the max for the 130EQ ranges from 260x to 325x so it will be nice to see what this telescope can do

anyway with the higher mags i added alot of weight to the tripod to steady it i got a old paint tin, filled it with scrap metal and hung it from the tripod, the tin weighs about 9.2kg so its quite heavy thats the only downside to it. i also striped the EQ mount completly, cleand it regreased it and adjusted the slowmotion gears so everything is tight with no play but still turns fine.

The standard tripod and scope took around 8 secconds to steady itself, thats a long time but with the extra weight and lovering the center of gravity it now steadys in just 3 secconds and i think that is pretty good

any tips on other improvements i can do are welocmed

pics

IMAG0742_zps8c254788.jpg

IMAG0743_zps3946d1d7.jpg

Have a think about flocking the tube too, made a big difference to the contrast on my 130eq. 

The biggest issue I find is that the scope is not that stable on the tripod, the slightest knock and it wobbles around real bad. I find the tripod great when used with my DSLR and 300mm lens so I guess the 130eq is just a little large for it. Maybe a longer dovetail would be more stable? I don't know. 

I like this scope for observing lunar and planets but its not very good for photography!