NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher 130P or Evostar 90

Hi all

Apologies - another 'which scope' question I am afraid.

I would love to be able to go for the 150P / 200P or the Evostar 102 or even the 120 but I am mindful of the amount that I can convince Mrs Danny is sensible to spend on a 'scope and the £130-£150 range is manageable.

Any purchase is a little way off - don't see the point now until the nights are getting longer and I have plenty to be learning with the bins - but I would like to start putting money aside so come late August / September time I can pull the trigger.

So with that in mind which of the above would you go for?  My interests so far are the planets, lunar obs and open clusters (although note I am very new to this).  I would like to be able to make out nebulae also but galaxy chasing no so much I do not think.

I have an understanding of the differences between the dob mounted 130P and the fact the 90 is a refractor but I am also interested in which would give most benefit upgraded eyepieces, barlows and the like.

Viewing will generally be from the back garden in North Sheffield so LP etc will always be a consideration but plan to take the scope out to some reasonably dark spots either.  Transportation considerations not really an issue.

AP will be on the cards at some point in the future and ultimately I will get a larger scope as well but for now want a decent starter that will take well to upgrades such as EP's that I can use in any scope I have.

The 130P, no doubt. It will show more detail on any object you pick, I would say. The 130P is faster, so more in need of better EPs. The MaxVision 68 deg EPs would do VERY nicely for a reasonable price in a scope like that, I find (at least for wide-field observations. The BSTs get a very good press for planetary work.

Not really a simple choice.

The 130P will collect more light but most people that get the Evo90 like them and use them a lot.