NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Taking up old hobby, but wanting to go further!

Hey all :)

I was a keen back-garden type observer for a few years when i was younger - Owned a nice 8" Skywatcher reflector and 4.75" Skywatcher refractor on EQ5 mounts, and looking back, this was some pretty good kit! Would've definitely got me started had i had kept them...

Anyway, i find myself in the grips of astronomy, cosmology and all other manner of universe related subjects, and having pondered for a few months i think it's time to get myself going again with a good 'scope. 

As said, i've got some experience with using telescopes, so i should be fine with some intermediate-advanced type equipment.

What i'm looking for:

Good visual capability

Good imaging capability

GoTo feature

Object tracking

Budget - £1000-£1500

I will also need a camera, software and any other items of sorts to start out taking pictures, budget up to £500. 

So i'm looking to spend no more than £2,000 in total. Accessories such as eyepieces and the like are not too important as these cost peanuts and i can acquire a few come payday.

Portability is not such a problem, neither is brand as such, but due to my past experience with Skywatcher telescopes, i wouldn't mind another!

What could people recommend to get another keen lad onto his feet again?

Thanks guys,

James.

Hello James, welcome to SGL and back to the hobby.

I'm far too new to help here but I dare say in another few weeks / months you will be helping us all.

It's also nice to see a detailed list of requirements and a sensible budget for someone wanting to do imaging.

I'm sure you will get a lot of good responses with that budget as it should fit well with some good equipment.

Good luck!