Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First telescope around £300?

Hello,

I am just starting out and I would like to buy my first telescope. I need some help on that.

To begin with, although I appreciate the deep sky and plan to explore it, my main objective is planetary onbservation, and my main focus the gas giants, Jupiter and Saturn. So idieally I would want a telescope which can give me crisp, clear and hopefully large views of them, although I understand that they are far so it is not the easiest task in the world.

I have read about the types of telescopes and mounts and I am going for a reflector as that's what my budget/performance restriction suggests. I am between a Skywatcher 8" Dobsonian and a 6" Explorer of the same brand. From what I've noticed, telescopes on EQ5+ mounts come slightly more expensive than Dobsonian. Is that right? What do you think would be the best of these 2 for a beginner? My understanding is that Equitorial gives you better motion but needs to be stable and aligned, whereas the Dobsonian mount gives you good stability but not as good motion (altazimouth). The telescope will mostly be used on a balcony and a rooftop. Not interested in GoTo for now, as I would like to learn to read and navigate the sky first.

So, could you guys provide with a couple good suggestions for a telescope which gives me as big and clear views of planets as possible, and costs around £300? Thanks a lot in advance!

Alex

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Alex and welcome to SGL.

I'm fairly new myself so I'll leave it to the experts to give advice on this.

The EQ mounts take a bit of getting used to, but when you do they are easy to align and i the end a dream to use.

Just one thing that you haven't mentioned is if you plan to do any imaging at all, it may be best now thinking if you do and how far you want to go. Even basic imaging may sway what you have currently asked for.