observing moon with dobsonian

Hello, i'm really new in astronomy, i have bought lastely dobsonian 12"(GSO). It came with superview 30mm and plossl 9mm lens. Actually i have bad weather, but i want at least to observe moon with best view experience, what can you recommend? Any informations, etc.. , please :).

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL. I'm new too and know nothing of your scope. However you have two EP and the best way will be for you to stick in the 30mm and view the moon when we finally get better conditions, then flip to the 9mm.

I'm sure your first viewings will be amazing like almost every other person on their first time.

Jupiter is clearly visible to the naked eye and will be an easy find with your scope. As of today it is just east of the moon.

Download the free software Stellarium to make the most of your planning and viewing time.

Hello and welcome to the forum  :smiley:

I also have a 12" dobsonian and use a range of eyepieces to observe the Moon. The 9mm will be more useful in seeing detail than the 30mm is it gives much more magnification. Your scope can go further than that though so you would also find 7mm and 6mm eyepieces useful. The plossl type eyepieces are inexpensive and quite good quality but there are many other choices of eyepiece too.

This report might help, if you have not already read it:

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/43171-eyepieces-the-very-least-you-need/

Hey, thanks for answers, i have used two times stelarium, it is very good program :).

Hm, what about eyepieces, i thought about barlow 2x for rnav spotting with this dobsonian, what you think about this?

And does it make any difference using polarised moon filter , and standard one(the green cheap one) ?

I don't find I need any filter when observing the moon even with my 12" scope.