Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best DSO astro-imaging refractor for around £1k?

Hi,

After a bit of planetary and lunar imaging, we'd like to move on to deep sky imaging.

What do you think is the best scope to get with a budget of around £1k (£1200 at a stretch)? It would be our first refractor, so an all-rounder DSO imager would be best if there is such a thing.

Having had a look at the scopes on the FLO web site, the following 2 drew my attention:

• Skywatcher Esprit 80 ED PRO Triplet
  • William Optics GT-81 Triplet Refractor

Are there any others I've overlooked?

I thought it would be best looking at triplets rather than doublets.

Is there a sweet spot regarding the focal range? I have no experience how much space the DSO will take in an image. I appreciate there are some very big ones and some very small ones, but typically I've seen focal length of around 400mm to around 1000mm, with the more expensive ones generally being between 400 and 600mm. Is there a focal length range that could be considered an all-rounder?

Another way of putting this is: if you could only have one refractor for DSO's which focal length would you prefer?

Similar question for focal ratio. I know the faster the better, but also the most expensive, so at which point does the focal ratio start being too low because not very good optics are being used?

Finally, I would also be interested in the amount of back focus and whether you'd think, in your experience, whether it would be sufficient to eventually fit a filter and maybe a focuser and an OAG. (I've gone through a very interesting thread from Gina who was testing the SW and ran into back focus issue when she wanted to fit her OAG)

Anything I should be looking out for / paying attention to?

Thanks in advance for your input

Nico & Carly

Do you have a mount already? I ask as this really is THE most important part of the AP setup. You make no mention of a mount, so I assume that you have one?