advice on imaging equipment

Eeyarn

hi im just after some advice on buying a good imaging setup, ive done alot of reading about AP and tried a little on my current scope (5 inch reflector on an EQ5 with duel axis motor) and now realize how hard it is, so wanting to make it as easy on myself as i can. Ive got around £1200 to spend initially on the scope and mount and will be adding to it as i progress (guide scope etc). this is what im thinking so far, for mount HEQ 5 Pro or celestron advanced VX. for OTA ive been looking at a few, SW evostar 80ED, SW 200p DS or the SW Quatro F4. all have their Pros and cons to me but was wondering if anyone whos used them for imaging has any advice or can recommend anything else in my price range. any advice is much apreciated thanks :)

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm no expert, but I can offer a little help. I have an HEQ5 pro, I think it's great, so far no issues. I have a 130 (5") and a 200P style tube. While I do plan to image with the 200P it's a big lump and the FOV narrower of course - so it suits some targets more than others and vice versa a wider field will suit others better.

As if often said, it comes down to what you want to image firstly.

For wide-field the ED80 or something like a 130 or 150 PDS would be very nice on the HEQ5 Pro. I may still image a lot with my 130P as it's so easy (if it works with the coma corrector) or if not get a 150PDS, simply because there is no single do-it-all tube. Probably the 200P is that, but it's fairly heavy and by the time you've added guiding... 

that's the other thing, you'll probably want to consider guiding in budget to start getting good results, otherwise a lot of time and effort is required every time you set up to attempt perfect alignment.

and don't forget to allow budget for a coma corrector (or flattener/reducer for a refractor) if you don't have one already.