Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help! Newbie here, apparently incapable of using a telescope! What am I doing wrong?

So, my Skyliner 200P 8" Dobson arrived yesterday and, after setting it up, I went straight out to the garden to have a peek through it, as last night was forecast to be the only cloudless night of the week.  I stayed outside for 2 hours, desperately trying to see something fascinating through the 'scope, but sadly I was extremely disappointed.  Don't get me wrong, I'm completely aware that this will be due to my own ineptitude, and not the 'scope itself... so I'm here with a plea for HELP!!

Basically, the night sky looked far more astounding through my own eyes than through the telescope, which is why I realise I must've been doing something wrong.  As far as I'm aware, I set the telescope up properly as per the instructions... but perhaps I missed something?!  The instructions weren't the most detailed, so maybe I did do something wrong?

All I can see through the telescope is a bunch of very, very far away and tiny dots that are stars (shock horror...).  None of them were in focus, despite constantly turning the focusing knob in vain.  Sometimes they were blurry, sometimes there were about 10 of the same star; nothing I did would put it in focus!

Also, the view through the telescope looked exactly the same with both eyepieces (a 10mm and 25mm, which were supplied with the scope) and also without any eyepieces at all (so again, I must've done something wrong!!)