NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Generic set up for imaging?

cyteen02

I'm wanting to have a crack at some imaging. I'm a newbie with a little Sky-Watcher Explorer-130P but hoping to buy a bit more kit in the new year, starting with a Canon then splashing out on a decent mount.

I'd like to end up with being able to sit at my laptop with the telescope busying itself in the back garden some 10ish meters away through the patio doors.  I have read about all sorts of lovely equipment and software that's available, but I'd like you guys to sanity check my understanding.  To try to get my head round it I've drawn a diagram. There's red lines for power cables and blue for USB cables.

So is this the sort of thing I'd do well to end up with?

cf845c8e-97d3-4634-946c-cc5ff6f510b4_zps

I think I need a long USB cable to reach the garden, so seems sensible to have a powered USB hub at the end to link to the various stuff.

Will I need a power adapter for the DSLR or will a charged up battery do me fine?

I hope all this makes sense :)

Seems like the mount will be the most expensive thing, but forgetting things like the extra cables would not bless me!

Many thanks

Paul 

I hate the thought of taking a laptop outside... Nasty recalcitrant things. I use a programmable shutter remote and a DSLR, not that the images I have produced are any recommendation for the technique.

What sort of mount do you have now?

As others have said - you've got the basics there.

One thing you need to think about is how you'd focus the cameras if your laptop is inside, away from the scope...unless you're happy with focusing using Liveview on the DSLR

I think you have two choices - have a laptop outside that will enable you to manually focus at the scope, then link to it from another laptop /  PC inside with a network cable or invest in a powered focuser which can be controlled from a PC / laptop inside.

Good luck!

Steve