Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Don't know what to spend my cash on

Hi 

Another newbie looking for some help on what to spend my budget on for a first Telescope.

I've been looking to buy a scope for a couple of months now and to be honest the more i look the more indecisive i seem to be getting. I've read through loads of forums, watched you-tube clip after clip, and trawled the net for weeks but cant seem to make up my mind.

I have a set of 15 x 70 Celestron bins that I've been using for a few months and I'm enjoying trying to find my way around the stars, but I'd now like a scope to get me a bit more precise and if possible dip my toe into Webcam capture / AP a little . I've kind of set myself a budget of £300 - £400 as an opening gambit, I do like the thought of a GOTO and I am of a technical background so not put off by the complications this may bring but again its not a must have for me. 

I think I'd like a good all rounder that can observe The Moon, Planets and some DSO, Portability isn't a main consideration but would be nice i guess. Anyhow my current thinking is one of the following

Skywatcher Skymax 127 Synscan Mak

Celestron Nexstar 130 SLT

or

Skywatcher Explorer 150P (EQ3-2) and save up for a motor mount later

I'd appreciate any thoughts on the above choices or recommendations for alternatives

In my opinion the best choice is the 150P i with an EQ5, it's much sturdier than the EQ3 :) It can be upgraded with goto or motors with a regular controler at a later point.

The 150P is an ok scope for both planets and DSO, it's also good for photography.

The lack of goto is actually a good thing for a beginner, setting it up correctly can often take a lot of time and is frustrating when you can't find the object you are looking for.

Hi Saint_DAB and welcome to SGL!