Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Orion Mini EQ Mount - Anyone used one?

Neon

The tripod I'm asking about is here:

Orion Mini EQ Mount

Basically it's an equitorial mount for use on a table with a light 'scope, camera or bins. It also has the option to be mounted on a standard camera tripod, essentially turning it into an EQ1 mount. I'm looking to fit a geared head to my large camera tripod, although most of the decent ones seem to cost £140+

My plan is to get a cheap geared head for trips away that won't break the bank and has a camera type attachment for my 80mm Sentinel and my binoculars. Although long term the plan is a decent EQ5 for astro imaging, in the short term I'm still learning the ropes and take my scope with me to show of the skies to friends and family.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Mark

Seems like a perfectly sensible plan to me - having one tripod that will do the camera, bins and Sentinel that is small enough to pack away on trips away is ideal I reckon.

And its a sensible approach while you are still finding your way round things!

Pity there were no reviews on the site though, would be good to see some actual feedback....

I used to have one.

TBH I never really got on with it that well. But the guy I bought it from got good results on the wide field imaging.

I guess I secrewed up the polar alignment badly :rolleyes:

Ant

Mark,

That looks a good price too. It's available from <a href=http://www.telescopehouse.com/acatalog/Online_Catalogue_Mounts_45.html>here</a> for £44.99. I wonder what the shipping would be like from the US and would you get stung with import duty ?

Cheers John. I think Telescope house will be the place to buy it from. Amazon US have one for $45, but at least with the UK supplier I can use paypal (time to sell stuff on ebay!) and not worry about import taxes etc.