NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Celestron Nexstar vs. Dobsonian - NEWBIE

DISCLAIMER: I’m a newbie so please bear with me

I have always had an interest in astronomy but never pursued it, especially living in a BIG city. This time last year I went to a local astronomy club meeting. Afterwards they had some scopes set up outside for me to view.    WOW !!!!!!! was my first thought.   I believe my first site was either Jupiter or Saturn.

There were some tripod mounted scopes and an orion dobsonian (10” I think).  I was drawn to the dobsonian

Unfortunately, due to life getting in the way I had to postpone my astronomy interests.  Then came the summer, which probably isn’t the best time to view (dark after 9pm and HIGH humidity where I live here in the south).

So I’m back to pursuing this again.  Turns out I have some of those credit card reward points built up.  For the amount I have and the selection they have, I could either get a Celestron 4SE, 5SE or possibly 6SE.  The other option would be to convert them to universal visa gift cards (think I have $500 worth).

So, do I go with one of the Celestron’s mentioned above?  Or do I go with a dobsonian – which if so, do I go with 6,8 or 10” and do I get a GOTO model? (the one I used last year I think was a push to).

I’m not sure if I want to focus on plants, DSO, or other?  I don’t know at this time if I would like to do any astrophotography or not.

Can anyone help sift through all the specs to figure out which one to get?  I keep hearing about focal lengths, aperture, tube length, eye pieces, reflector/refractor etc etc.  It is all very confusing.

I appreciate any and all help, comments, hints, suggestions, links to documentation etc

THANKS!!!

I would make the universal recommendation to seriously consider a 8" Dobsonian. If you can run to the extra expense then the 8" Orion Intelliscope will provide you with an excellent means for finding objects, I have one and it's great.  :smiley: