Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Just bought first telescope

Hi there, after much deliberation,hesitation and procrastination I have bitten the bullet and bought my first scope.

Thanks to reading through multiple threads on this great resource I decided on the Skywatcher 200P Dob with additional Celestron eyepieces (7mm and a 2x Barlow). It arrived yesterday whilst I was at work from First Light Optics (great service). I thought it wise to get a Cheshire collimator at the same time.

I knew it would be large after viewing some unboxings etc on YouTube, but when it has been assembled and is right there in front of you,wow,the thing is a beast!

Everything builds up easily in no time at all, and the whole set up seems extremely robust and well made. Due to the bad weather in Co Durham I have not had the chance to align the finder scope yet or view the night sky. When the weather improves I hope to get back with a report of a complete newbies findings. I have been reading Turn Left at Orion and have found it invaluable, went straight to M31 with 10 x 50 bins.

Thanks for all of the advice,and clear skies. Tim

Looking forward to getting out there with it. Its quite dark in my garden, but I'm only about a twenty minute drive from the Derwent reservoir too for some very dark skies. Should go in the back of a Fiesta with the seats folded down I reckon.

Thank you all for the encouragement and good wishes. Once my daughter and I become competent with it and the sky we intend to have a star party and have friends and family around to see what is out there. We thought the 7mm eyepiece would be a good choice for planetary stuff in UK skies.