NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First Look GSO 200 F5 Reflector ( 14 images )

Hi all.

Pleased to say I have just received my GSO 200 F5 reflector from Teleskope Service in Germany which I ordered around a month ago, though had to wait for new stock to be delivered from the manufacturer. The service and communication from TS was exemplary and I wont hesitate to use them again.  So here is a quick look with some images and a few thoughts. I am no expert on reflectors as I have mostly used refractors in the past but I also own a Mak as well. The need for a big reflector is because I really want to get into the glob busting zone and this looks like an easy and relatively inexpensive way in.

I did this "first look" as there seems to be scant information or reviews about this particular scope so I hope this helps anyone considering getting one of these. Also you will see that the images here differ somewhat to the ones at TS website, nothing major but from what I can see some of these differences feel like enhancements, for example the locking and adjustment screws for the primary mirror. I will follow it up with a first light report next available chance, might be a while then after looking out of the window.....

DSC_9496_zps9f163fb6.jpg

So the box turns up from UPS and it weighs 12KG, already I have an idea on the size of this thing.

DSC_9497_zpsb758ddc7.jpg

Opened up and all the contents are well packed and unmarked. This is a good start!

DSC_9501_zps9d7a575c.jpg

After carefully unpacking the OTA from the plastic bag I take a good look at the top end. The focusser and finderscope fittings are all looking flush and fitted properly, all the screws are threaded correctly and and the whole things feels pretty solid. The top protection cap slots neatly into the aperture and does not fall out so easily. I believe these scopes can be branded in different ways, but in this case there is no doubt that this is Guan Sheng Optical!