Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Good spread of eyepieces for a SW 200p

As a telescope beginner I find the subject of eye-pieces quite complex. I have a Sky Watcher 200 (f 1200) Dob, which came with 10mm and 25mm eye-pieces.

Could anyone advise me on what range and what type of other eye-pieces would be useful to cover general viewing, while not breaking my small bank!

On a different point, the finder-scope is difficult for me to use as I can't get my head and eye close enough to the tube to look up it! Any thoughts on whether I should try to find a right-angle finder ... Or should I go straight to a Telrad/Rigel finder?

Many thanks in advance, Julian

When I had a scope of that fl, I found my most used eyepiece for deep sky was 13mm (x92). The 25mm (x48) you have is ok for low power.

For planets a 5mm would just be about right. I wouldn't be tempted to use a Barlow with the 10mm, the supplied 10mm is notoriously poor ;) You may find a 6mm (x200) useful as well for when the sky isn't steady enough for x240 on the 5mm.

Hello Julian,

a Telrad vor Rigel is a great Addition, in combination with maps... It saves a lot oft time and struggle.

AS for eyepieces, the UWA 66 degree apparent viele oft view are great budget eyepieces and give amaing views. They only Cost 30€ and are even cheaper then the HR planetary for 45€, which are also great budget eyepieces.

They are only avyilable in 6, 9, 15 and 20mm though, so you may want to ad a 30-35mm eyepiece to your list.

You should get one eyepiece for overviews, one for maximum magnification, and one vor two inbetween.