Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Things to find around the plough

Hi all,

i'm just starting out in astronomy and as im trying to learn i spot of sky at a time!

the plough is the area i am interested in and tonight is going to be a good night so am defo out, any suggestions of things to look out for in this area that i will be able to see with my little scope! :)

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i only have a celesron firstscope with standard eps (H20,SR4mm)and i just brought a 12mm celestron omni plossi and celestron x2 barlow with moon filter,

forgot to mention!!!! lol

Tricky with it bring so light, you'll struggle with galaxies but might be worth trying to find M81 and M82.

Definitely have a look at Mizar and Alcor, they are a lovely double, and Mizar itself splits into a pair through a scope. It's the second star in from the 'handle' end

Stu

Did you have any luck?

To be honest, I didn't suggest the targets above because I doubt you will see them as the skies really don't get dark at the moment and you need dark skies for galaxies, even more so with a little scope. You should certainly manage M81/2 with it when skies get a bit darker, and no harm in orientating yourself with where all these objects are even if you can't see them! I can see M81/2 in a 66mm refractor so they should be manageable.

Stu

morning stu, no i didnt get to see anything last nite!!!!! damn high cloud ruined my nite!!!! well annoyed but hey there is allways tonight fingers crossed really need to get out under the stars there is only so much i can learn from books and software. need the real thing!!! :)

How did your night fair? stu, better than mine i hope!!