Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Helios apollo 15x70 question

Having just taken receipt of a pair of these binoculars I immediately opened and tested them I have 2 problems I would like advice on..

Firstly the 2 image circles fail to merge until the ipd is set to the very closest possible. Even then they only just merge together and they may not be perfect.

2nd and more worrying is a white image appearing at the bottom of the image. I'm no expert but it feels like internal reflections or possibly stray light.

I tested in daylight handheld so this is by no means definitive test but based on past experience with a pair of revelation 20x80 binoculars these problems didnt exist even handheld.

One last problem but is big deal is that the box has two security latches and one of the keys holes has fel inside the mechanism so cant be used for security.

any thoughts would be appreciated and i will post back later when i mount them on a tripod and look at stars and DSOs.

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply
2nd and more worrying is a white image appearing at the bottom of the image. I'm no expert but it feels like internal reflections or possibly stray light.
This is the second time someone has reported this in a few days. I wonder if it's a bad batch or if they've changed the design (I don't have that problem in mine). However, the reason is irrelevant: if you're not happy with it, send it back.

Tab on Tapatalk

Asro noob, I have just bought a pair and like you the binoculars exhibit the same white flare at the bottom of the image. I was really looking forward to getting these binoculars but was really disappointed with the result. Thankfully I bought from FLO so I am in good hands. The box was also extremely flimsy and was marked and some little dents also. Steve