NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Parabolic mirror

I'm building my first telescope, a Newtonian reflecting, and I'm going to attempt to create my own mirror by purchasing a custom bend piece of glass then having a metal shop treat the back of the glass with sliver. If this won't work, let me know because I'm very new to all of this.

Main question: do the dimensions of a parabolic mirror have a limit.. Meaning, is there a certain equation needed for it to be used in a telescope. I just don't know how deep it should go. I want it around 20 inches. Any insight would be GREATLY appreciated.

I think you may have a wrong interpretation of what a telescope mirror is.

I'm a bit bemused by the silvering of the back of the glass,

The optical surface is the face of the disc, and has to have a very very precise surface indeed.

20 inches is a huge project too, and many difficulties lie ahead.

Have you read any books on mirror making?. If not, I would advise you to try your local library, and ask about mirror making books.

There are two popular ones, one by the French phycisist Jean Texereau, and another by the American mirror maker. N.E. Howard.

Ron.

The depth depends on the diameter and the focal length.

You do not silver the rear of the glass, it is a front silvered mirror.

Really best advice is to work out a focal length you want and buy a ready made parabolic mirror. Someone must make them try Zumbuto or visit Hubble Optical and buy one of theirs. If you get a Hubble one pay for the quick delivery, the not quick is about 8-10 weeks.

20 inches of glass is heavy, you will be looking at 2" think (5cms) so that is close to 10,000cc and at a specific gravity of 2.6 that means 26Kg or 55lb for the mirror alone. Throw in all the other construction required and the scope will be 70-80 lb easily, quite likely close to 100lb in total weight.