NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Into the heart of darkness - Reading?

So, I'm just starting out on proper stargazing, and I've hit a problem - I live in Reading, Berks., and the light pollution is pretty awful.

Last night I headed out to do some observing outside Reading itself - but the skies that had looked promising (under a full moon) now appeared to have an orange murk along the horizons. I'm not sure if this is due to conditions themselves, or due to light pollution. I mean, at 2100 the sky didn't appear black at all - if anything, it was blue, even directly above me - and I was struggling to see magnitude 3 stars.

How far does one have to reasonably go to get out from under the light pollution of a major town? And how do you find places to observe from that are actually dark and yet reasonably accessible (e.g. somewhere to park and walk from)? Or was last night just due to poor conditions?

Or, I suppose even better - does anyone from the Reading area have some advice on useful locations to scout?

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The sky was pretty gack in London last night, and I doubt if it was any better in Reading. I didn't see much below mag 2.

On a good night from where I am I can see to mag 4, maybe 4.5 with averted vision so you should be able to get lower if you can get to a darker site.

This site

www.avex-asso.org/dossiers/wordpress/?page_id=127

Has an interactive light pollution map, for both visual and imaging.

Don't look if you're easily depressed :mad:

Thanks Dave, that's an excellent site - I see a donation coming up.

Yeah, to be honest, it's not that different to what I expected - but not that bad if you're will to drive. The problem is the dark bits don't seem to have much in the way of parking, and further afield - well, how do you know where you can stop until you get there?