NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

12 inch Newtonian on a CGE Pro Mount

I have a very nice EQ6 mount with an 8 inch GSO 200 F4 newtonian telescope that I use for astrophotography. I'm still a beginner but I'm very excited about this hobby and though it's always cloudy here, the few times I use it, I really ejoy it. It's not a very special scope for visual use, however. I do enjoy it but I once gazed through my old 12" Newt and that was a whole different story.

A few years ago, a friend gave me a HUGE 12 inch telescope practically for free. My friend got it from a man who had planned on using it for a backyard observatory but moved to a tropical island and couldn't take the scope with him. It came with a big fat non-goto mount that looks like one of those Cave mounts. I've only used it once because the mount was damaged. I got a stunning view of Saturn but couldn't center it in the eyepiece without holding the tube steady with my hands. The mount had so much backlash that when I pushed the back-end of the telescope, it would wiggle up and down for many cm's and you could hear a strange clunking sound coming from the mount. If I raised my hand from the telescope, the tube fell down a few cm's and Saturn was gone. If I pushed the telescope down again, Saturn went out of view the other way. Of course, this took the fun out of observing. I asked an expert if it could easily be repaired and he recommended I got rid of the mount and buy or build a dobsonian mount instead. It sounded like a good idea at the time but it never came as far. Years later I bought a nice EQ6 goto mount with a GSO200 that I now enjoy. The 12 inch telescope currently sits in my shed. My EQ6 couldn't possible carry this scope succesfully so the scope doesn't get used anymore.