Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hercules globular clusters.

cotterless45

M13 was dazzling this morning after the Moon had set. In a 15mm SW Panorama, it was just diamonds scattered on black silk . The faint smudge was the galaxy NGC 6207.

M92 was lovely and I found the smaller and compact NGC 6229 at x120. Well worth finding.

Lyra and Cygnus were rising in the north east, so I had a quick look at M27 and M57. Cassiopeia was low in the north, it's lovely to see it set over the roof tops in the evening then reappear.

Nick.

Hey Nick, good for you! Totally agree about seeing Cass hovering low on the horizon, looks really magical.

You had some company with M13 as I also took the opportunity in that vicinity. My session didn't start till about 4:30 and had never been up to see Lyra and Cynus rise like that (I'm pretty new to prolonged observing). Cool stuff. Sadly I didn't see more than a smudge because of a thin film of dew and couldnt resolve anything at 130x. Glad you saw much more! Am I right in thinking you were at 84x? I wouldn't be able to make out any detail on M13 at that mag with my scope but then it is half the aperture of yours!!! :Envy:

I have to say that M3 was well impressive when I saw it on Saturday from near Dungeness. I went to see an old friend down that way and chanced taking my LX10. Glad I did.

I have never been able to resolve any stars in any globs. M3 was my first DSO when I bought my SW 90mm Mak (first telescope) and ever since then I have wanted to resolve as many stars as possible in globs as these are my favourite DSOs.

The view through my later scope, Meade LX10, with 12mm and then 7mm EPs gave me substantial resolution a fair way into the glob, bearing in mind there was half a moon too, I was totally blown away. Awesome sight! Can’t wait to try M13 on a moonless night.