byeos or apt??

nephilim

As I'm awaiting arrival of a 'new to me' camera, i'm considering one of the above. Can anyone explain the pro's & con's of these (I'm a total newbie when it comes to imaging) & maybe a conclusion to which one would be better for someone just starting out. Thanks

Steve

You can try them both out if you wish to.

To the best of my recollection APT restricts access to some features unless you've paid the (small) amount for it, but they don't stop you actually doing an imaging run to see how it suits you and if you didn't want the extra features you wouldn't have to pay at all. BYE gives you access to all its features for something like 30 days, at which point you have to pay.

I happened to pick APT first, found I got on with it, paid my twelve Euros or whatever it was and I've been happy with it since.

James

You can try them both out if you wish to.

To the best of my recollection APT restricts access to some features unless you've paid the (small) amount for it, but they don't stop you actually doing an imaging run to see how it suits you and if you didn't want the extra features you wouldn't have to pay at all. BYE gives you access to all its features for something like 30 days, at which point you have to pay.

I happened to pick APT first, found I got on with it, paid my twelve Euros or whatever it was and I've been happy with it since.

James

Thanks James, I think i'll do that, all I was thinking about was getting the free 30days byeos trial & then for 30 days of cloud to follow. I'll try APT first & then 'if' the weather improves & theres a chance of a couple of clear nights :rolleyes: get the 30 day byeos, then decide between the two..

Steve

Tried them both and got on better with APT than BYEOS , nothing I could really put my finger on , just a personal preference.

When I was researching the two I very much got the impression that the biggest difference between them was down to personal preference rather than functionality.