Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Images - advice welcomed!

Hi all, after a fun session outside last night and this evening on the laptop I have produced my first images using my ED80 and unmodded 1100d. ( unguided HEQ5).

I would much appreciate constructive criticism to help me improve my images.

I've saved and attached them as JPegs as wasn't sure what the norm is to upload on here.

The first is the moon, a dozen shots and then Registax and GIMP.

The second M42 was 20 x 30 seconds (too long?) saved as tifs to put through DSS ( honestly enjoyed using this software).

I followed various tips online, some from here. Please don't be too harsh I've only just begun ( as the song goes!)

post-26268-135890217296_thumb.jpg

post-26268-135890218872_thumb.jpg

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, well done, it's a great start.

I am new to imaging, so take the advice with a pinch of salt :grin:

Re M42, you may be able to stretch out a bit more data, but maybe not as the total exposure is only 10 minutes.

With M42 you need a combination of short exposures for the trapezium and longer for the nebulosity.

On advise and searching the ne, I did my 1st M2 with a combination of 10 sec, 30 sec, 2 mins and 5 mins exposures, totalling around 2 hours of exposure.

Even then I still had a blown core, more to learn :grin:

This was wih an unmodded 1100D.

8369431217_cd8fb9b565_z.jpg

The below link was my guide on settings / inspiration. Keeping in mind it was a modded DLSR.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/46302893@N02/8269396740/

HTH,

Cheers,

Grahame.