Hello from southampton.

Sorgan

Hello guys,

When I was a young lad I loved anything to do with space, I would gaze for hours at the night sky and had a ton of books on various stars, the solar system and galaxies.

I even had the good fortune to meet the late and great sir Patrick Moore, I guess the recent lose of such an icon has rekindled my intrest, this may also be due to the fact I would love to see my daughter see the stars as I once did.

So here we go, I am a keen amatuer photographer (keen but by no means good) and have frequently waited hours for the perfect moon shot but I would love to try and get a picture of something else in the heavens, I understand this is tricky so I'm not going to be attempting it for a while.

Right so that's me, question time.

If I want to look at the stars, maybe see a galaxy or two, even catch a glimpse at a planet, what kind of telescope would I want? Now I am by no means a rich man and I should imagine high tech equipment would be wasted on me but if I'm going to buy something I want it to last. Any recommendations? I know it's gonna be a bit of a broad subject to answer but is there a nice entry level set up that stands above the rest?

Many thanks in advance

Sam

Btw here is my best moon pic to date

moon1.jpg

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to SGL

You must decide what you want to do or see. If you are considering astrophotography then the mount is the most important bit of kit. If just visual then not so much and your choices

would be different. Suggest you post this thread in the beginners section where you will get more advice.

Photography means HEQ5 or NEQ6 mount as minimum if you want it to see you through without having to upgrade.... but beware the darkside (astrophotography) will leave you with and empty wallet

and probably large credit card bills :)

Velvet