Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

ngc7635 The Bubble Nebula in Ha

Dave Smith

The week before last I intended to capture this target but it all went wrong and I couldn't find it. It wasn't helped having my finder not properly aligned.

Last Thursday night starting at around midnight (I was out during the evening) I took things carefully, using the Moon to get rough focus and to align the finder. Then a few star hops beta Cass -> M52 ->Bubble. I chose to goto M52 before the Bubble as I was sure I would be able to see that with a short exposure and was unsure how long before I would see a recognisable bubble.

It was taken with my Vixen FL102S with a W.O. type III reducer 0.8x. This is my first attempt at using a reducer with that scope and I seem to have got away with it with the small sensor of the Atik 314L+.

2h 20m of 10 minute subs together with darks, flats and bias. Calibrate and stacked in MaximDL and processed in Photoshop CS2.

Bubble-06.jpg

Dave

This is a great area of the sky, and the bubble is an exceptional target, albeit a challenging one with that bright star within the bubble and the bright glowing edge of the bubble, and the very faint outer regions of nebulosity.

Dave, it might just be my tired astronomy eyes but the focus here looks a tad soft to me, is that a possibility? Almost like there was some murkiness in the air which has softened the overall effect a little and bloated the stars a smidge. It might be worth going through the subs individually and checking the FWHM figures for the stars from first image to the last, maybe with these colder nights the focus changed a little over the course of the session. Personally I have always found it difficult or impossible to focus perfectly on the moon with the effects of seeing.