NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

A few questions before ordering

Hi guys,

A real beginner here. I have done a lot of reading the last week, in addition to spending a decent amount of time in Stellarium and generally spending more time looking up (whenever there's a break in the clouds).

After researching, I am on the brink of ordering a Skyliner 200P. It seems like the best for my budget of about £300. I want to have good visibility of solar system objects, but also a scope that will allow for good DSO's under the right conditions.

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-200p-dobsonian.html

After I have gained experience of the sky I want to begin getting into astrophotography and will be ordering Making Every Photon Count by Steve Richards soon. I wanted to check that this scope is suitable for obtaining these sorts of images at a decent quality before I commit to it though.

I've only heard good things about this scope, but would love any more feedback.

Thanks.

If you are wanting to get in astrophotography, the general recommendation is an HEQ5 and an ED80. You do not mention what mount you are getting? AP is all in the mount, if you are undermounted you will struggle to get decent images.

It's technically possible to take the 200P off the dob mount and put it on, say, a NEQ6, yes.

Personally I think I'd get the 200P dob and enjoy it for visual. When you get to the stage of wanting to do DSO photography the cost of the OTA (should you decide you need a different one) will be the least of your worries.

James

Yeah I will be buying the book soon and and I wont be buying much without the books advice. The photographic side of things is in my mind 6-12 months or so away anyway.

From what I've seen and read, a £289 scope which isn't really appropriate but has great views and will last is a decent investment. I was just curious as to it's ability in the photographic regard.