Webcam dilemma.

nephilim

Hi, I've been advised to post my question in this section as I'm a complete novice with imaging. After reading up a bit on webcam modding im wondering if its worth doing as my scope is only a Skywatcher 130m EQ2. I'm thinking of either the lifecam, HP HD-4110, of as another member recommended an x-box cam (due to it being my first time) Another member also said I should check that the webcam can be controlled by the software i'd use to control the parameters, I now feel a bit daft as wouldnt have a clue what software I'd be using as i didnt know u needed any!! Can 'anyone' help me with this or even point me in the right direction as I'd love to image the moon & a couple of the brighter planets if it's possible with the scope I have.Thanks in advance to anyone prepared to try & drill the info into my head!! :grin: PS I've downloaded registax so at least I know 'something' haha.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hers a thread to read through in regards to the xbox cam, it will show how to modify it and give you advice on what software to use, you'll also see some images other users using the cam have taken, be warned it is quite a large thread but well worth a read;

sent from Gherkin Muncher mk .III (commonly known as a Galaxy S2)

Hers a thread to read through in regards to the xbox cam, it will show how to modify it and give you advice on what software to use, you'll also see some images other users using the cam have taken, be warned it is quite a large thread but well worth a read;

http://stargazerslou...ecam-mod-cliff/

sent from Gherkin Muncher mk .III (commonly known as a Galaxy S2)

Excellent, thanks very much for that, it's just what I was looking for!! I'll post here on how I get on in the next few days. :grin:

The Xbox camera would work fine using SharpCap as the capture program on (say) Windows 7.