Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First widefield attempt Orion complex

pixueto

Dear all,

I bought a cheap solignor 200mm 4.5F lense with a M45 adapter to try piggyback widefield AP on a budget. I focused to infinity, went a stop down (5.5) and attempted a series of 10 min subs with an LP CLS filter. Something went wrong but I'm inexperienced enough as to not having a clue about what the problem is. Not sure if focus was right (DSS wouldn't stack the subs) as I normally use a bahtinov for focusing but not this time. In this case I just moved the nozzle until it reached the infinite marking. I also took one of the subs and tried to work with it. When I tried to align the channels, the blue one desintegrated as you can see in the pictures. Can someone give me an idication about what may be going on? I'm a complete novice in this field.

Thank you very much as always for you support. I really appreciate it.

Pix

post-18331-0-71546400-1351464502_thumb.j

post-18331-0-72387300-1351464520_thumb.j

post-18331-0-35082800-1351464536_thumb.j

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You have overexposed the blue channel. You need to use shorter exposures or a lower ISO. Also, you focus is not quite right - I always shoot test shots and zoom in on the stars to double check my focus.

You only have a few values for blue (because the blue values are squeezed up against he right side of the histogram) so when you stretch them the few values you have get separated like the teeth of a comb.

The CLS filter blocks most red/orange/yellow, so that leaves the blue least dimmed. Can you set you camera to show you the RGB histogram?

Yes, What should I look for in the histogram in the camera? It is stright to the right end of the screen.

Thanks for your help. It's very informative.

Thank you guys. It's very nice of you. I'm getting an idea about how to fix the problem. Before talking to you I felt like not using the 200mm lens any more!