Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepieces for the Moon and Jupiter

Fordos Moon

Total beginner, I have the Skyliner 200P and the 10mm and 25mm that came with it. Fell in love with our Moon and Jupiter tonight. What type of eyepiece(s) should I consider for improved moon viewing and greater detail on Jupiter? Apologies if not used correct terminology, there's a lot of it in this game!!

Do you have a budget? You could do a lot worse than the Vixen NPL range from at £30 from FLO but the eyerelief below 15mm is somewhat tight. Or any Plossl really, Meade, Skywatcher or even Televue if you're feeling plush :)

Failing that I can whole heartedly recommend the BSTs from Skies the Limit on EBay for £47, they have much better eye relief and give fantastic views for the price.

I think in terms of value for money there are 3 great contenders, depending on just how low your budget is. The vixen npls are sharp and cheap at £30. The bsts are pretty sharp and slightly wider in terms of FOV, at a slightly higher £47. I think after the bst the next logical step up would be the celestron x-cel lx, or maybe even a second hand hyperion.

No worries.

For lunar and planetary an Ortho (Baader Genuine Orthoscopic for example) would be best, they would have the cleanest view with fantastic light transmission, perfect for this task. You may be able to get one second hand for about £50, if you're lucky. They also have the same eyereleif as Plossl's though.

Edit: Forgot about these said to be about as good as BGO's but sell for £55 new...

Fordos,

Have a read of the post started by Moonshane,called " cheap v expensive " This man knows what he is talking about and covers the two very eyepieces you have at the moment. Other than that there is an eyepiece known as BST that is worth looking at, they come in various F/L's and you can work out your magnifications by deviding the focal length of the eyepiece into the F/L of you telescope.