Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Good DSLR for 200p/EQ5 modest budget/2nd hand?

Aenima

I have an increasing interest in astrophotography, having been using a webcam for solar system objects and really getting into it, I want to start learning deep sky imaging even though my EQ5 is as yet undriven - I only have the hand slo-mo controls but want to upgrade afterwards, somehow getting the camera seems the first step.

Anyway, I digress (often) and am lookinjg at buying a 2nd hand DSLR body and was hoping to get some advice as to which general camera would be best for my scope and also my particular situation. I'd like to image things like clusters and brighter galaxies, and also need something not too technically complicated, i'm new to the whole deepsky thing.

Any advice would be welcome,

Regards

Aenima

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You won't go far wrong with a Canon 1000D , S/H bodies around £150.

Would recommend you avoid Nikons due to the lack of software that comes with the camera , the Canon EOS Utilities package is a great starting set-up and there's plenty of Canon targetted software about such as BYEOS and APT for the next steps.

Steve.

The Canon EOS 1100D is a good bet. It uses the latest image processor and is on a par with the best for noise. It is the bottom end model with few of the bells and whistles devoted photographers like but which are of no benefit for astro use. It has live view which enables you to see the image live on your computer screen without having to take an exposure. All functions required for AP can be controlled from computer and the whole imaging session can be automated without much trouble using software such as AstroPhotography Tool or BackYard EOS.

There have been a few DSLR cameras posted in the classifieds recently I believe.

James

Yes, I have an astro modded one on there myself at around the lowest price of an unmodded new camera body.