Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

weak detail in jupiter 250px

i was viewing jupiter for the first time tonight and i could barley see 2 belts and it was bluryish is that down to colmination, i have been told by other that with the 250px dob they get great detail on jupiter,they have better eps but not sure what it is.thanks sam

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I see reasonable detail of Jupiter with my 200p depending on sky conditions, using my 8mm BST or Radian 10mm+ barlow. It may be your collimation out a bit or maybe the eyepiece. Is it the supplied 10mm you are using ? was your scope at ambient temp ? How clear or transparent are your viewing conditions ? Others will be able to advise better as I am a relative beginner. Keep at it and I am sure your views will improve with time and experience. I still have not seen the G.R.S but pick out reasonable detail in cloud bands. In another month or so Jupiter will be better placed for viewing.

Eyepieces are important but not that important (within reason, of course). Collimation matters more with a fast scope, which is what yours is. My hunch is that if you have to ask whether your blurry views are "down to collimation?" then it's almost certainly the case that they are indeed down to collimation. Once you understand the procedure and are able to carry it out correctly then you'll know the scope is aligned correctly.

As well as collimation and the steadiness of the atmosphere (the 'seeing'), you might need to wait for your main mirror to cool down to reach the same temperature as the air.