Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

sketching advice.

rory

calling all sketching dudes, im wanting to get a couple of pens for doing the field stars, but dont know what to order ? any suggestions from the sketching community would be gratefully recieved. ive seen pens mentioned before but cant find the posts now.

im an artist newbie and have no clue. :confused:

yeah, i didnt want to post questions on the imaging and sketching , i thought it was more for the actual posting of sketch results.

mike, im unsure what to order, i was looking at 0.5mm artist pen, but wanted some input before ordering the wrong gear.

if the mod's think it might benefit moving to another section, i dont mind. :cool:

Have a read of Carol Lakomiaks regular sketching column in SaN. She puts a lot of detail in to how to draw stuff including choice of pens/pencils and gradings. I'm not a sketch artist myself but her advice is really very good and thorough :)

I usually spend about ten to twenty minutes just looking at the object and I try averted vision, telescope tapping and just letting the object drift. I often find that most detail is captured when the object slides into upper left field.

I have experimented with many different drawing implements: chalk, brushes, pastels, charcoal and when out in the field, I find that fine black or blue fiber tip pens are the best. They work nicely and show up better in my dim red light.

To create the eyepiece circle, I use the plastic CD that comes with packs of blank CDs.

When plotting stars, for example, you’ll need some kind of way to capture limiting magnitude and colour at the eyepiece. You can try doing big stars for bright and small stars for faint, but often, when you’re actually outside in the dark, that is easier said than done.

Here, I have found a code to be useful. I put a little f next to the faintest stars, a y if I see it yellow, a g if it has a golden hue to it, etc.