Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

what am i doing wrong?

rpmiller78

i just cant seem to figure out what i am doing wrong. the only dso object i have seen through my scope is m13. last night i had great sky's(there was madison light pollution near by). i, for the life of me, could not find the ring nebula. i had my scope pointed at the right spot. i just could not see it. then i tried for m13 again, and couldnt seem to locate that either. i was using my 40, 25, and 17mm eyepieces. i am a noob and my averted vision skills are not good yet. add along to that the fact that i have terrible eye sight in the first place. any tips from you guys would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

Perhaps if you haven't already, then consider fitting a telrad and use this in conjunction with your finder scope and low power eyepiece. Download and print-off the messier list Telrad charts. Ensure that your eyes are fully dark adapted takes between 30 - 45 minutes.

Also consider starting a session by using a pair of binoculars to familiarise and orientate yourself to the sky and perhaps pick out a few objects to.

Now I'm not being patronising but have you checked out that the finder scpe is still aligned properly? It's very easy to knock one inadvertently whilst packing a scope away or getting it out, or maybe it's been knocked onto whilst it's being stored.

Just an idea .

You should be able to make out M57 even from areas suffering pretty bad LP it's that bright, but remember its very small so it may appear almost stella in very low power eyepieces.

The Telrad suggestion is a good one, they can really help with object location.

I totally agree with the idea of finding a few items with bincoculars. That way you can familiarise yourself with the star hop to each new object.

If you found M13 reasonably easy, you should be able to see other DSOs. The Ring nebula has quite a high surface brightness and should be clearly visible in an eight inch scope with patience.