Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

tracking help

just wondering if im looking at buying the right bit of equpiment,

ive had my first scope now for 5 days & its awsome but as a complete novice i didnt realise how fast the objects move across the ep so im looking at a tracking motor & as i got my scope from flo i saw this on there web site (Dual-Axis D.C. Motor Drive for EQ3-2)

which would fit my mount is this what i need to keep a planet in centre of ep? & are they complicated to fit? & do i need to download softwear to track or would this do it all for me? any advice much appreciated.

The dual axis motor drive takes about 10 minutes to fit (each motor is attached to the mount with a single bolt). The drives provid a number of tracking rates, the normal tracking speed will keep a planet in the eypiece for a number of minutes if the mount is accuratey polar aligned. The drives don't require any software to operate, they just drive the mount at a set rate.

Peter

Phil - I added the tracking motors to my EQ3-2. It is indeed a simple job. As long as you get the scope reasonably polar aligned it will keep objects in view even at high magnification.

It's worth attaching the motor controller to the top section of one of your mounts legs with velcro, I found I could just reach down and press the buttons while looking through the eyepiece or at my laptop when imaging. Just make sure you choose the right leg so its on the same side as the eyepiece most of the time.

thanks speedyf, good info on that video, its helped alot,

& i forgot bout the bank hols, ordered it monday & came thursday so all credit to FLO

just got to wait for the stubborn clouds to go now to test it out

thanks again all

I have just a single RA motor (was already fitted to the mount) and it makes a big difference in observing pleasure. My avatar shows what you can capture with my set-up on Jupiter (8" scope rather than your 6")