Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How do you keep your computer powered throughout the night?

Hi all,

I am new to somewhat serious astrophotography and have never had to power a laptop in the field before now. How do you go about doing this? Is there some type of battery pack that can be charged and used on site, and what would such a thing cost? I am going to be using an astrotrac with a camera/lens on a tripod hooked up to my laptop running PHD, which shouldn't drain the battery terribly fast, at least I wouldn't think. Is a low power setting on the laptop enough to run PHD? I always have it set to performance mode at home, but would like to extend the battery life for as long as possible, as I will have the opportunity to stay out all night several times in Utah this June:headbang:.

Thanks!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I assume you mean using your laptop away from home and therefore away from a mains supply? If so then it is quite easy to buy an adapter that will allow you to run your laptop from a 12v battery. These are designed to run your laptop from a car cigarette lighter socket.

For mine I found one on Amazon - just make sure that you check both the voltage and wattage (mine was 18v, 65w if I remember correctly). Just be aware that your lappy will be pulling 3-4 amps so, for an all night session, you will need quite a beefy leisure type battery (especially if running your mount and other bits as well).

I wouldn't bother with the lappy's own battery pack - they don't really last very long, even when new!

I've got a 9 cell extended battery on my Samsung NC10 and replaced the standard harddisk with an SSD. This combination, fully charged, Wifi and Bluetooth switched off works very well.

I ran IC Capture capturing 10 second exposures from a DMK41 for five hours and still had around 25% battery remaining (screen mainly closed to preserve power).