Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

I've just bought my first scope!! Now I need some help!!!

Hiya I've just bought my first scope the Skywatcher Skyliner 150P Dobsonian, which I thought was the best one for the money! I'm waiting for it to arrive and am a bit worried about the mount. I'm very new to this so bare with me, I've never even seen a real telescope ha!! Basically, from the pictures I can see that it's got a flat base, will this then mean I will have to put it on the floor and then sit and look through it? Or does it have a flat base and then poles (?) to bring it to eye level?? If it's the first then is there any option to put it on a tripod or something similar?! Like I said bare with me on this I may be sounding really stupid but yeh. Any help would be appreciated!! :clouds2:

Hi and welcome.

It stands flat on the base and most people, I think, sit to view. I put mine on a water but stand which brings it to eye level. Have fun with your new scope!

Hi Jen. Well you made the right choice as the dob is probably the easiest telescope to come to grips with, just spin in on its base to get the scope in the right orientation and then point the scope to where you want to view. Then use the viewfinder to centre onto the object :clouds2:

What you really need is an idea of what to look at and how to find it. A book like Turn Left at Orion and a star atlas like SkyAtlas 2000 would be a good starting point.

Stellarium is a good free computer planetarium but don't blind yourself with a computer out of doors, even with red acetate in front of the screen. Some will disagree but I won't be changing my mind.

Olly

Hi Jen,