Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New scope collimation - Cheshire or Laser?

Hi all, I've been lurking around for some time now and have just signed up :D

I've been using binoculars for about 9 months now and wanted to get a telescope to get better views of things, mainly wide-field 'deep(ish) sky' and nebula etc. but also planets.

My good lady wife (I have to say that now!) has just bought me a Celestron Omni XLT150 reflector on a CG-4 GE mount and I will probably need to collimate it sometime.

Would you advise a cheshire or a laser to do this job?

I've never had to do this before, so I'm hoping it won't be too difficult or make me wish I had a refractor!

Thanks for any assistance in this matter

Kevin

Hi. It seems some swear by Cheshire and some swear by Laser. Personally I have a Laser and find it quick and simple to use. I think what ever does the job and you are happy using is the answer. :D

A cheshire is a fixed device and pretty foolproof whereas a laser collimater will require its own collimation checking and, if necessary, adjusting. It's not that hard to do but it does mean an extra check in the overall process.

There are several stages in the collimation process and not all the tools will do all the stages. Before going into them, you need to know that there are two different passive tools in common use: the cheshire and the sight tube. These are usually combined into the cheshire/sight-tube combination tool that you see on sale in most places. This tool has two different components which do different things (to be explained below).

1. Centering and rounding the secondary in the focuser. The sight-tube is the best tool for this, as it nicely frames the secondary in the focuser. You can get away with just a cheshire if pushed, though. The laser will not help you do perform this step.