NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Advice on where I'm going wrong.

Slim

I'll start by saying I'm very new to this and have an awful lot to learn. I set about imaging only my second DSO last night. M51 was the target of choice and the equipment I used is in my sig. I captured in Sharpcap and got what I thought was a pretty decent image well focused using a Bhatinov mask on Alkaid. Exposure time was 30 seconds, I took 30 exposures and 10 darks.

However, when I came to process in DSS I could only get it to stack 2 frames due to a lack of stars. Below is a typical exposure, could you have a look and suggest what I might be doing wrong. Is my exposure not long enough or gain too low? I followed a tutorial on the use of DSS I found on Astronomy shed so understand changing the threshold to use 12 stars in this case. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

0005.png

My advice would be ditch the webcam for targets like this and keep it for planets. Get yourself a second hand Canon 350d and start using that with your set up you have a great telescope and fantastic mount so with an slr camera you can get some fantastic images. Deep sky object like this one would come out much better with a camera I feel although I have seen good images done with webcams a canon 350d would be better and a second hand body only on ebay is pretty cheap. I have a set of standard setting for deep sky stacker on my blog. Hope that helps a bit QM

Thanks QM. I had a feeling that would be the advice ;)

Another question. Is it essential to get the DSLR modded? Money is fairly tight at the moment and modding the camera seems to add another £200 to the cost.

You can try IRIS. Iris software

There are a whole suite of alignment tools. I've been able to align images like yours (like my M51 next to my name) for which the individual subs were much like yours